Thank You George Zimmerman for Magnifying the Problem With the “God’s Plan” Argument

What’s there to say after that?  It was God’s plan, right?  Everything that happens is God’s will and for a reason, right?  The Bible says so in a number of different places.

Surely, as I have thought and planned, so shall it come to pass, and as I have purposed, so shall it stand.  For the Lord of hosts has purposed, and who can annul it? And His hand is stretched out, and who can turn it back? – Is. 14:24-27

A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps. Proverbs 16:9

Who has spoken and it came to pass, unless the Lord has commanded it? Is it not from the mouth of the Most High that good and bad come? Lam 3:37-38 

There are plenty more, but you get the point.  You’ve heard it your whole life.  Oh, but in this case (and in countless other cases of senseless loss of life and suffering), it’s different, right?  It was Man that messed up God’s plan, because this doesn’t make any sense.  Oh wait, there’s a verse for that too…

 Trust in the LORD with all your heart; and lean not upon your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct your path. Proverbs 3:5-6

How convenient.  Just in case the shyt hits the fan and things don’t work out in your favor, then just trust that God has it.  He knows best!

I know I just killed a teenager and the nation is out for my blood, but this must have been a part of your divine plan, Lord!  Thanks for the opportunity!  Checkmate.

GTFOH

I feel like I shouldn’t even have to write any further, but before I do, let me post the response to George Zimmerman’s Fox News interview by Trayvon Martin’s parents in case you haven’t read it yet…

“I don’t understand what God he worships?  It’s not the same God I worship,”

“Why would God have him to kill an unarmed teenager?  I mean, it just makes no sense.  What plan is it?  I mean, that’s just heartless to say that that was God’s plan that he took our child’s life.”

And thus our eternal conundrum.  Once you invoke the God’s plan argument, the argument is over.  It now just depends on how you assume God works.  And we’ve all been taught that even through trial and suffering, he’s generally working in OUR favor.  But when you have two sides pitted against each other, it’s difficult for God to play both sides of the fence.  AND worse yet, it basically absolves man of any accountability at the end of the day.

  • Do something stupid?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!
  • Kick a cat today?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!
  • Fail a test?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!
  • Didn’t get that call back from those jobs that you applied for?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!
  • I’m a bum at life in general?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!
  • Accidentally left your infant in hot ass car?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!
  • Kill a teenager you were pursuing against clear professional advisement?  Don’t worry – God’s plan!

Everything is God’s plan!  Yea!  For the Bible told me so!

GTFOH

Whatever the outcome of this tragedy, one side will claim victory and ultimate divine vindication over the other.  But it’s akin to having God both in the numerator and denominator.  The God’s plan argument just doesn’t work – in any circumstance.  Ever.

I feel like I could write for hours about this, but just had to vent.  Tired of hearing that shyt.

Notable Items:

  • I have no clue what happened that night, but the released calls are pretty telling in their own right
  • It’s no less than a tragedy that a teenager had to lose his life that night
  • My deepest condolences to Trayvon’s parents
  • I honestly believe Zimmerman wasn’t out to kill anyone, but as my father used to say, “No matter how well you’re doing, you’re only one bad decision from losing it all.”

#accountability

4 thoughts on “Thank You George Zimmerman for Magnifying the Problem With the “God’s Plan” Argument

  1. Interesting take on the situation man… you exhausted many possible excuses/rebuttals but I still don’t know what you believe. I assume the accountability tag at the end means that we should take responsibility for our own actions. But what do you believe? What is God’s role? Does he have one? Is He real?

    • Thx for the comment, Andre. Potential answers to your questions could (and have) fill books. The short answer is yes, we should all learn to take responsibility for our own actions, but I fear that would also be an oversimplification.

      What do I believe? That’s a journey in itself, but I do plan to post about my belief (or lack thereof) in the divine. I will say that there is a difference in what a person believes and what they know.

      Let’s just say I don’t see much divinity in what happened on that fateful night in Florida.

      What do you believe, sir?

Leave a Reply

