Resumés Are Dead – Response From My First One On One With A College Student

Resumes are useless.  We know this.  One of my long-term goals is to help replace the resume, or change its overall cultural impact.  It’s going to happen – it’s just a matter of when, by whom, and with what?

We have to give people something better than this poor excuse of a talent/skill/passion identifier. These things just suck – balls.

I think I actually have a potential short-term answer that can solve this problem along with the added benefit of matching a person’s income with their passions.  Ideal, right?  Who the hell wouldn’t want that?  So I’m beginning to tell my message to the younger generation just entering the workforce.  Most of them confused and disillusioned as to what their mound of debt actually bought them.  They’re graduating soon and now what?

It’s a real problem, and I think I have the beginning of a real solution, so I’m inclined to share it.  Of course the issue is that I’ve been out of school for about 10 years now, so it’s very possible that the curriculum has changed enough to where schools are better preparing students today for the realities they’ll face once they’re done purchasing whatever parchment of paper with its emblem of specialization scribbled across it.  Maybe I only THINK I have something to say.

No better way to test my theory than by talking to a senior university student getting ready to make that lifelong career decision in the next year or so.

Maybe she would hear me, maybe she wouldn’t.  Maybe she would think these concepts were useful, or maybe she would look at me as another dumb ass adult trying to tell her what to do with her life again.  Who knows?  But that’s the risk you take when you want to spread a message.  The risk of coming across as an idiot.  Ah well…

Me and Student X met at a local Starbucks one afternoon…we spoke for about an hour and a half as we were pressed for time.  She said she would send me her thoughts about our conversation, and as I posted on my FB Page, I promised to share the feedback either bad or good.

Here it is:

Anyways, I’ve been giving our conversation some thought with the time I’ve had, and I am still very thankful for the information you gave me.  I feel that it is something my generation has always known about, but has never really given much thought on the power of the internet and the opportunities it can offer.  As a college student in my senior year, students are still trying to enter the job force, searching for whatever they can get in this economy, but are never really sure about what they want to do or what they would enjoy as a career.

With the rise of the internet, students in my generation who have grown up with it, have been open to more knowledge and awareness of today’s world.  Consequently, I’ve always felt that we want more out of the world as a result of it. Honestly, I’m not sure if many of us are really cut out for Corporate America or rather, I don’t feel we will excel to our potential in Corporate America due to the [knowledge of ] the other opportunities that are out there.  I think that with the internet we are given more liberty to express our thoughts and creativity with less critique and more understanding.  The job force is changing and I think many students feel that they’re being pulled in two directions. One direction pursuing a career based on their passion, and the other pursuing a career based on financial success. It wasn’t until you informed me of these changes that this confusion started making sense to me.  

It’s an interesting concept what you told me because it actually allows you to be completely yourself in finding a job. It’s an exciting thought but also a crazy thought to wrap your head around because it is the ideal situation.  Doing what interests you, what you love and being yourself is something I’ve never felt coincides well with the current workplace.  I think that’s what I love most about this theory.  

After having our conversation I couldn’t help but wonder—what interests me? This is something I’ve always had an issue with because I am still growing and learning more about myself every day and my interests change every day.  This is also a “my generation” issue I have noticed among my peers and myself because there is so much information out there and sometimes it’s difficult to focus on one thing, one major, one path.  But, I’m excited.  I’m going plan on writing about something that interests me, something I’ve learned or heard at least once a week, just as you said, and hopefully it gets me somewhere in my future.  However, if we could figure it out, if we could all strive for a career that defined who you as a person were, wouldn’t the world be a much better place? It’s a cheesy thought, but still makes you wonder. 

I think what you’re doing is great and I’d like to help out.  I know that you are interested in having a college rep or someone over here letting you know what’s going on so please let me know if you want me to write about a certain topic or ask students questions around here, I don’t mind at all I think it’s a very interesting topic to talk about and I would love to be involved.  Let me know and thanks for everything Isom.  

There wasn’t a black version of derp face

I was very glad to read her response.  And I appreciate her taking the time to hear me out.

I’m choosing to keep her identity on the DL for right now, but I hope she’ll be writing a post for us here pretty soon, and keep us informed of her journey.

Must say it does feel good to feel like you’re actually helping.  Good shyt.

This is going to be a process, but I’m ready to keep moving forward.  Every journey starts somewhere, and mine has begun.  I’ll be putting together a comprehensive version of what must change in order for people to best be able to match their interests with real work opportunities.  All in due time.

If you’re a college student reading this, check out the video below.  It’s a good starting point if you’re truly trying to utilize all of your options to land a job that reflects your interests.

www.seelio.com
I’m excited to see what this company can do.

5 thoughts on “Resumés Are Dead – Response From My First One On One With A College Student

  1. Having been out of college for 10 years, the new generation has me shaking in my books. They are so bright and they know that NOW is the time to pursue their dreams. At the risk of sounding old, “Go, Young People, Go”. Pursue your dreams and go for the Gold. Show us old folks how to do it. I am learning from you each day!

    • Like you, I reject the fact that we can’t learn anything from the youth. Just like we can still teach the people that came before us something new. It’s a process and everything can be a learning experience, we just have recognize when an opportunity to learn is in front of us (which is usually all the time).

      The next generation after us are going to accomplish things we never even thought was possible…and I can’t wait.

  2. I love the idea of the evolving resume and I can’t wait to see what comes next! Also, it’s great hearing the voice and opinion of someone entering the work force and the challenges that are present today for the current generation. I couldn’t help but have a, “Back in my day..” moment! Thank you for this..

Leave a Reply

